Stoops Auto
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Photo by: BSU Photo Services /BSU Photo Services
Men's Volleyball to Celebrate 50 Seasons
MUNCIE, Ind. - The Ball State men's volleyball program will hold its 50th Anniversary Celebration on Jan. 4-5. The Cardinals are one of two NCAA Division I/II programs to eclipse 1,000 wins as a program.

There will be a Coaches Clinic on Friday, Jan. 4 from 8 a.m. - 5 p.m. at Worthen Arena. A reception at the Ball State Alumni Center will begin at 6 p.m., followed by the 50-Year Celebration Dinner and Program.

The program's annual alumni match will begin at 6 p.m., Saturday, Jan. 5 at Worthen Arena. A reception will follow at 8:45 p.m.

The Cardinals posted a 14-12 record last season overall and a 5-7 mark in MIVA action. Ball State will open up the 2013 campaign at home against St. Francis on Saturday, Jan. 12 at 7:30 p.m.

A total of 270 players have earned letters for the Ball State men's volleyball program dating back to 1962. Since volleyball became a varsity sport in 1964, the team has racked up a 1,067-440-8 all-time record.

The men's volleyball program has had 10 inductees to the Ball State Athletics Hall of Fame: Dr. Don Shondell, Phil Eatherton, Todd Reimer, Steve Shondell, Chris Cooper, Scott Nelson, Wes Lyon, Rick Niemi, Dave Schakel and Mick Haley.

Ball State By the Numbers

1 - National Volleyball Hall of Fame Inductee

3 - AVCA Hall of Fame Inductees

3 - U.S. National Team Players

3 - Academic All-Americans

10 - Ball State Athletics Hall of Fame Inductees

14 - MIVA Tournament Championships

15 - NCAA Tournament Appearances

21 - MIVA Regular Season Championships

24 - All-Americans Earning a Total of 43 Honors

73 - Players Selected to the All-MIVA First Team Earning a Total of 121 Honors

167 - Total All-MIVA Honors Earned by BSU Players

307 - Times Ranked in the AVCA Poll

1,067 - All-Time Wins Entering the 2013 Season

Active Ankle MVB
Official team shop