Stoops Auto
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Photo by: BSU Photo Services /BSU Photo Services
MVB Places Nine On Academic All-MIVA Squad

   MUNCIE, Ind. - - The Ball State men's volleyball team placed nine student-athletes on the 2011 Midwestern Intercollegiate Volleyball Association Academic All-Conference Team as announced by the league office.

   "Our student-athletes earned this recognition for the hard work they put forth both on the court and in the classroom," said Ball State head coach Joel Walton. "To have over half our team recognized on the academic all-conference squad is quite an accomplishment and a testament to the effort our players place in their studies."

   Highlighting Ball State's list of honorees are a trio of four-time award winners in seniors J.D. Gasparovic (St. Louis, Mo./Oakville H.S.), Lee Meyer (Cincinnati, Ohio/Moeller H.S.) and Dominic Spadavecchio (Palatine, Ill./William Fremd H.S.).

   In addition to the four-time honorees, senior Anders Nelson (St. Croix Falls, Wis./St. Croix Falls H.S.) earns the honor for a third time. Sophomores Greg Herceg (Lakewood, Ohio/St. Ignatius H.S.), Matt Leske (Highwood, Ill./Highland Park H.S.) and Tommy Rouse (Carmel, Ind./Cathedral H.S.) are all picking up the award for the second time, while freshmen Graham McIlvaine (Hinsdale, Ill./Hinsdale Central H.S.) and Kevin Owens (Fishers, Ind./Cathedral H.S.) are first-time award winners.

    To be eligible for the MIVA Academic All-Conference Team, student-athletes must have achieved at least a 3.00 cumulative grade-point average on a 4.0 scale after completion of the 2010 fall semester at their respective institutions. A total of 82 players were recognized this season, with Ohio State pacing the league with 17 selections, followed by Quincy (14), Lewis (13), Loyola-Chicago (12), Ball State (9), IPFW (9) and Grand Canyon (8).

Active Ankle MVB
Official team shop