Stoops Auto
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Football GameDay Central
2014 Football Season Tickets
Photo by: BSU Photo Services /BSU Photo Services
Football's Davis Named to Player of the Year Watch List

Nate Davis (Bellaire, Ohio/Bellaire H.S.), a junior quarterback on the Ball State University football team, is one of 35 football student-athletes in the country to be named to the Walter Camp Player of the Year Watch List.

The Award is sponsored by the Walter Camp Football Foundation and is the nation’s fourth oldest individual college football accolade. The Watch List will be narrowed to 15 semifinalists in early November. The 2008 Walter Camp Player of the Year recipient, which is voted on by the 119 NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision head coaches and sports information directors, will be announced on the ESPN/Home Depot College Football Awards Show in December.

An All-Mid-American Conference Second-Team selection last season, Davis ranks third in Ball State history with 5,642 career passing yards. He owns the Ball State record for career touchdown passes with 48, and owns the school career record with 12 games of 250 or more yards passing.

Davis started all 13 games at quarterback in 2007 and set the Ball State single-season record with 3,667 passing yards. He attempted a school standard 478 passes and completed a school record 270 passes. His 30 touchdown passes in 2007 set the Ball State single-season record, shattering the previous mark of 18 set by Joey Lynch in 2005 and tied by Davis in 2006.

Davis, who is also on the Maxwell Award Watch List which goes to the nation’s most outstanding quarterback, is one of eight Ball State mentions on seven national award lists for the 2008 season.

Ball State will open the season Aug. 28, with a 7 p.m., home contest vs. Northeastern at Scheumann Stadium. The Cardinals will host Navy Sept. 5, at 7 p.m., in a game televised nationally on ESPN.

Following is a listing of Ball State players on 2008 preseason national award watch lists:

Walter Camp Player of the Year Award: Nate Davis, QB

Butkus Award: Bryant Haines, LB

Mackey Award: Darius Hill, TE

Rotary Lombardi Award: Robert Brewster, OT, and Darius Hill, TE

Maxwell Award: Nate Davis, QB

Outland Trophy: Robert Brewster, OT

Ray Guy Award: Chris Miller, P

All Access
Football Facilities