Article Image
Courtesy: BSU Photo Services

Jones And Bond Earn MAC Postseason Honors

Courtesy: Ball State Athletics
Release: March 09, 2011
Print RSS
Share |

                 CLEVELAND, Ohio - Ball State junior forward Jarrod Jones (Michigan City, Ind./Michigan City) has been named First Team All-Mid-American Conference while freshman forward Chris Bond (Gary, Ind./Bowman Academy) has been named to the MAC's All-Freshmen Team the league announced Wednesday. The league's 12 head coaches voted on both the All-MAC and All-Freshmen teams.

                Jones earns his third straight All-MAC honor of his career and while he becomes the first Ball State player to earn First Team honors since Chris Williams in 2003. He led the Cardinals for the third straight year in scoring at 14.6 points per game and in rebounding at 8.4 boards per game. He finished the regular season ranked ninth in the MAC in scoring and second in the league on the glass.

                Jones, a three-time MAC West Player of the Week, scored in double figures in 26 of the 30 games this season while posting a team-high 10 double-doubles. He scored over 20 points in four games this season and connected on 51.1 percent (168-of-329) from the field. Jones moved into 21st all-time in Ball State history in scoring at 1,151 points and seventh all-time in rebounding at 701 boards.

                Bond becomes the 13th player all-time in Ball State history to earn a spot on the MAC All-Freshman team and marks the fourth straight year that a Cardinal has been honored (Jauwan Scaife, Jarrod Jones & Melvin Goins).

                Bond has appeared in 28 games for the Cardinals and has started the last 11 games heading into the MAC Tournament. He averages 7.4 points per game and 4.4 rebounds per game on the year while placing second in the MAC in field goal percentage at 59.0 percent (85-of-144). Since moving into the starting lineup during MAC play, he averages 9.4 points and 5.9 rebounds per game.

                The fourth-seeded Cardinals will open the 2011 FirstEnergy MAC Tournament Thursday night as they play fifth-seeded Ohio. Game time is set for 9:30 p.m. at Quicken Loans Arena and will be broadcast on Sports Time Ohio, Comcast Indiana and

All-MAC First Team
Justin Greene, Kent State
Julian Mavunga, Miami
D.J. Cooper, Ohio
Xavier Silas, Northern Illinois
Jarrod Jones, Ball State

All-MAC Second Team
Brandon Bowdry, Eastern Michigan
Nikola Cvetinovic, Akron
Rod Sherman, Kent State
Byron Mulkey, Buffalo
Demetrius Ward, Western Michigan

Honorable Mention
Zach Filzen, Buffalo
Javon McCrea, Buffalo
Austin Calhoun, Bowling Green
Scott Thomas, Bowling Green
Trey Zeigler, Central Michigan
Jalin Thomas, Central Michigan
Michael Porrini, Kent State
Nick Winbush, Miami
DeVaughn Washington, Ohio
Flenard Whitfield, Western Michigan

All-Freshman Team
Chris Bond, Ball State
Javon McCrea, Buffalo
Trey Zeigler, Central Michigan
Nick Kellogg, Ohio
Juwan Howard Jr., Western Michigan



2016 Top 10 Stories: Men's Hoops Turnaround Season
Men's Basketball: Mallers an Indiana All-Star
MBB: James Whitford Signs Extension
Men's Basketball: Cardinals Fall in CIT Quarters
Men' Basketball: Cardinals Relive Epic Comeback
MBB: Highlights vs UT Martin
Men's Basketball: James Whitford UT-Martin...
Men's Basketball: All-Access Inside the Locker...
Men's Basketball: Cardinals Top Tennessee State in...
MBB: Highlights vs. Miami
Ball State All Access
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
A-1 Graphics
American Chevrolet
Burger King
Cousin Vinnys
Dillman's Furniture
Discount Tire
Holiday Inn Express
Jimmy John's
Johnny Carino's
Muncie Auto Group
Mutual Bank
Peak Property Group
Sam Pierce Chevrolet
Camping World
Victory Honda
Village Promenade
MacAllister Rentals
A-1 For Fun
Baskin Robins
Prime Trust
T.I.S. Bookstore
Advanced Signs
Cambria Hotels and Suites
Central Indiana Orthopedic
Coldwell Banker
Cooper Tires
Downtown Muncie Red
Intrust Bank
McCoy Ford-Lincoln
Papa John's
Terrance Smith Distributing
Texas Roadhouse
University Avenue Dental