Ball State Women's Swimming & Diving Awards and Honors

   The rich tradition of the Ball State women's swimming & diving program began in 1965 when it officially became a varsity sport at BSU. Since then, over 430 student-athletes have earned letters for the program which enters the 2010-11 campaign with a 269-181-2* overall record.

   In 1970, BSU women's swimming & diving gave the university its first national champion in any sport when Patricia Bergman took home the title in the 100 backstroke (1:02.3). One year later, Bergman earned the national title in the 100 individual medley (1:03.2), while placing second in the 100 backstroke (1:03.0). She also placed fourth in the 50 backstroke (29.6) and helped the Cardinals to a seventh-place finish in the 200 medley relay at the 1971 NCAA Championships.

   In addition to national championships, the Cardinals have won 28 Mid-American Conference individual titles and four MAC relay championships since the 1980-81 season. BSU student-athletes have also earned six MAC Diver of the Year awards, two MAC Swimmer of the Year accolades and two MAC Outstanding Senior honors.

   Click the links below to learn more about the Ball State women's swimming & diving program.

- - All-Time Letterwinners

- - Ball State Records in PDF Format

- - All-Time Award Winners in PDF Format

* = No records were available until the 1975-76 season