Article Image
Courtesy: BSU Photo Services

Indoor T&F Places One on Academic All-Mac Squad

Courtesy: Ball State Athletics
Release: April 23, 2012
Print RSS
Share |

MUNCIE, Ind. - Ball State indoor track and field’s MaryKate Mellen (Michigan City, Ind./Michigan City) has been named to the Academic All-Mid-American Conference Team, as announced by the league office.

Mellen, a telecommunications major with a 3.88 grade-point average, earns the honor for the first time during her career with the Cardinals. She ranks ninth in the MAC in the mile run (4:57.60), which she posted during the league championships and stood as a top performer for the Cardinals in the 1 mile run (5:09.63) at IU’s Gladstein Invitational.

Mellen also posted a time of 10:26.89 in the 3000m run at IWU, turned in a fifth place performance in the mile (5:03.67) at IU’s Hoosier Hills Invite and placed second in the mile run with a time of 5:06.80 at the Bowling Green Challenge.

A total of 34 student-athletes earned Academic All-MAC honors, with Miami and Western Michigan leading all schools with six selections each, followed by Kent State and Ohio with four selections each.

The Academic All-MAC honor is for a student-athlete who has excelled in athletics and academics. To qualify, a student-athlete must have at least a 3.20 cumulative GPA and have participated in at least 50% of the contests for that particular sport. First-year students and junior college transfers in their first year of residence are not eligible for the award. Outstanding academic and athletic accomplishments for the current season are only considered.

2012 Indoor Track & Field Academic All-MAC Team

Ariane Beaumont-Courteau - Akron

Valerie Fraizer (Wert) - Akron

MaryKate Mellen - Ball State

Abby Koch - Bowling Green

Emma Denton - Buffalo

Becky O’Brien - Buffalo

Holly Anderson - Central Michigan

Veronica Garcia - Central Michigan

Meghan Powers - Eastern Michigan

Kate Wolanin - Eastern Michigan

Paige Foster - Kent State

Kim Preston - Kent State

Melinda Sawnor - Kent State

Kayla Schoenle - Kent State

Rachael Clay - Miami

Monica Fischer - Miami

Erica Howes - Miami

Katie Scannell - Miami

Kori Tatman - Miami

Ashley Zaper - Miami

Jenelle McCalla - Northern Illinois

Jenner Sio - Northern Illinois

Juli Accurso - Ohio

Emily Pifer - Ohio

Melissa Thompson - Ohio

Brittany Tyree - Ohio

Julie Snyder - Toledo

Megan Vogelson - Toledo

Chiara Allen - Western Michigan

Andrea Arnold - Western Michigan

Iris Campbell - Western Michigan

Cara Cremeans - Western Michigan

Aisha Hodge - Western Michigan

Rachel Whitley - Western Michigan

Track & Field: MAC Championships Recap
Sports Link: On the Right Track
Track: Between Two Cards (Peyton Stewart)
Student Athlete-of-the-Week: Peyton Stewart
Student Athlete of the Week: Marie Lumpkin
Indoor Track: Cardinals Open Season at IPFW
SL TV: Track & Field Throwers
SL TV: #iAthlete - Hannah Lange (Track)
Ball State Track & Field VS. Bowling Green Recap
Rebecca Lomax Qualifies for NCAA East Preliminary...
Ball State All Access
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
A-1 Graphics
American Chevrolet
Burger King
Cousin Vinnys
Dillman's Furniture
Discount Tire
Holiday Inn Express
Jimmy John's
Johnny Carino's
Muncie Auto Group
Mutual Bank
Peak Property Group
Sam Pierce Chevrolet
Camping World
Victory Honda
Village Promenade
MacAllister Rentals
A-1 For Fun
Baskin Robins
Prime Trust
T.I.S. Bookstore
Advanced Signs
Cambria Hotels and Suites
Central Indiana Orthopedic
Coldwell Banker
Cooper Tires
Downtown Muncie Red
Intrust Bank
McCoy Ford-Lincoln
Papa John's
Terrance Smith Distributing
Texas Roadhouse
University Avenue Dental