Stoops Auto
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Photo by: BSU Photo Services /BSU Photo Services
Field Hockey Releases 2014 Schedule
RELATED LINKS

MUNCIE, Ind. – Ball State field hockey head coach Beth Maddox announced her 2014 schedule on Thursday that features six home contests and four games against teams that were ranked in the final Penn Monto/NFHCA Division I National Coaches Poll of the 2013 season. In addition, the team has released its spring contests.

“We are excited to host two days of competition this spring,” said Maddox. “The opportunity to compete at home is great for the team. They have been working incredibly hard and we can’t wait to finally get outside and play.”

Ball State will host Central Michigan on Saturday, Mar. 29 for a series of contests followed by games against Miami and Ohio on Saturday, April 5. There will also be an alumni game hosted on April 5. On Saturday, April 13 the team will travel down to a tournament hosted by the University of Louisville.

“We have been competing against Central Michigan every spring and to do so at the Briner Sports Complex is huge,” said Maddox. “The spring schedule will provide great competition for us. The most exciting part of our spring season is that we will host an alumni match. Ball State has a rich tradition and I know that our current team will have their work cut out for them.”

Ball State will open up its fall slate traveling to Boone, N.C. to take on Davidson and Appalachian State on Saturday, Aug. 31 and Monday, Sept. 1. From there Ball State will venture to New York to play Colgate on Saturday, Sept. 6 and Syracuse on Sunday, Sept. 7. Syracuse finished the 2013 season ranked second in the nation.

The Cardinals will travel to Columbus, Ohio on Sunday, Sept. 14 to battle Ohio State before hosting its first home game of the season against Indiana on Wednesday, Sept. 17.

Sunday, Sept. 21 Ball State will travel to Northwestern, a team who finished No. 17 in the final poll of the season. Ball State will host St. Louis on Sunday, Sept. 28 before traveling to Iowa on Friday, Oct. 3. The Hawkeyes were ranked No. 19 in the final poll of 2013.

MAC play will begin on Sunday, Oct. 5 when Ball State hosts Central Michigan. The Cardinals will continue its three-game home stand with Missouri State and Michigan State the following weekend on Saturday, Oct. 11 and Sunday, Oct. 12. Michigan State is the final team on the 2014 schedule that ended the 2013 campaign ranked – the Spartans were No. 20 in the final poll.

Ball State will continue its season with a road game to Ohio on Saturday, Oct. 18 before journeying to Kent State on Saturday, Oct. 25. The season will wrap up on Saturday, Nov. 1 when Ball State hosts Miami on Senior Day at the Briner Sports Complex.

“Our fall schedule will definitely be challenging for our team,” said Maddox. “Starting out first two weekends with our trips to North Carolina and New York will really test us. We are confident that these trips will help us prepare for conference play.”

Ball State will host an Alumni Weekend during the fall with the date to be announced at a later time.

For more information on Ball State field hockey check ballstatesports.com.

All Access
Official team shop