Article Image
Mid-American Conference Football Media Day 2013 -- Left to right: Keith Wenning, Head Coach Pete Lembo, Michael Reghi and former Ball State...
Courtesy: BSU Photo Services

MAC Announces Preseason Football Poll

Courtesy: Ball State Athletics
Release: July 23, 2013
Print RSS
Share |


Ball State’s football team was picked to finish third in the Mid-American Conference West Division in the league’s media preseason poll announced at the annual Football Media Day at Ford Field in Detroit.

In addition, the Cardinals, under the direction of third-year head football coach Pete Lembo, received three first-place votes to win the MAC West and two votes to win the Marathon MAC Championship Game.

The Ohio Bobcats and the Northern Illinois Huskies were selected to win the East and West Divisions, respectfully, in the 2013 MAC Football Preseason Poll. 

In the East Division, Ohio was selected with 164 total points followed by second-place Bowling Green with 154 points.  In the West Division, it was a narrow margin as only 30 points separated the top three spots with Northern Illinois gathering 138 points, followed by second-place Toledo with 122 points and third-place Ball State with 108 points.

In the last four years the conference has witnessed five different programs compete in the Marathon MAC Football Championship Game and 10 of the 13 football programs have appeared in a bowl game in that span.  Ball State competed in the Beef ‘O’ Brady’s St. Petersburg Bowl after tallying a 9-3 regular season record in 2012.

The Cardinals open the 2013 season Thurs., Aug. 29, with a nonconference home game at 7 p.m. vs. Illinois State in Scheumann Stadium.  The 2013 Marathon MAC Football Championship Game is Fri., Dec. 6, at 8 p.m. from Ford Field in Detroit. 

The complete poll follows:

Team (First Place Votes)        Points

MAC East Division               

1.      Ohio (15)                   164
2.      Bowling Green (8)     154
3.      Kent State (1)            119
4.      Buffalo (1)                101
5.      Miami                        78
6.      Akron                        53
7.      UMass                       29

MAC West Division

1.      Northern Illinois (16) 138
2.      Toledo (5)                 122
3.      Ball State (3)              108
4.      Central Michigan (1)  67
5.      Western Michigan      61
6.      Eastern Michigan       29

2013 Marathon MAC Championship Game Winner:  Northern Illinois 14; Toledo 3; Ohio 3; Bowling Green 2; Ball State 2; Central Michigan 1.

Football: Better Know a Cardinal (Damon Hazleton)
Football: Better Know a Cardinal (Anthony Winbush)
Football: Special Teams Excel in Week 2
Football: Cardinal Cuts (Indiana)
Football: Cards Running Game Surging into Week 2
Football: Defense Shows Week 1 Growth
Football: Cardinal Cuts (Georgia State)
Football: Cards Ready for Dome Environment
Football: Georgia Cards Ready for Homecoming
Football: Cards Reveal Red Helmets
Ball State All Access
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
A-1 Graphics
American Chevrolet
Burger King
Cousin Vinnys
Dillman's Furniture
Discount Tire
Holiday Inn Express
Jimmy John's
Johnny Carino's
Muncie Auto Group
Mutual Bank
Peak Property Group
Sam Pierce Chevrolet
Camping World
Victory Honda
Village Promenade
MacAllister Rentals
A-1 For Fun
Baskin Robins
Prime Trust
T.I.S. Bookstore
Advanced Signs
Cambria Hotels and Suites
Central Indiana Orthopedic
Coldwell Banker
Cooper Tires
Downtown Muncie Red
Intrust Bank
McCoy Ford-Lincoln
Papa John's
Terrance Smith Distributing
Texas Roadhouse
University Avenue Dental