Stoops Auto
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Photo by: BSU Photo Services /BSU Photo Services
Justice Earns Academic All-MAC Honorable Mention

MUNCIE, Ind. - Shelbie Justice of the Ball State women's basketball team has been named to the 2013 Academic All-Mid-American Conference Honorable Mention Team, as voted by faculty athletic representatives at MAC institutions.

"I am so happy for Shelbie," said head women's basketball coach Brady Sallee.  "In my opinion, she is the epitome of a student-athlete and works extremely hard in both the classroom and on the court. Clearly, when you can coach young ladies like Shelbie, you should consider yourself lucky."

Justice helped the Cardinals to a 17-16 overall record and a 12-4 MAC mark, earning them the No. 2 seed in the Mid-American Conference Tournament for the first time since 2009.  Justice also played a vital role in Ball State's journey to the final 16 of the postseason WNIT.  Justice scored a career-high 20 points Jan. 31 in the Cardinals’ 73-50 win at Western Michigan.  She scored in double digits 10 times this season.  Justice boasts a 3.25 GPA on a 4.0 scale and was recently accepted into the Ball State nursing program.

The Academic All-MAC honor is for a student-athlete who has excelled in athletics and academics. To qualify, a student-athlete must have at least a 3.20 cumulative GPA and have participated in at least 50 percent of the contests for that particular sport. First-year students and junior college transfers in their first year of residence are not eligible for the award.

2012-13 Women's Basketball Academic All-MAC Team

Sina King, Akron

Hanna Luburgh, Akron

Rachel Tecca, Akron *

Chrissy Steffen, Bowling Green

Jill Stein, Bowling Green

Trisha Krewson, Kent State

Courtney Osborn, Miami

Amanda Corral, Northern Illinois

Mariah Byard, Ohio

Yolanda Richardson, Toledo

Naama Shafir, Toledo *

Inma Zanoguera, Toledo

* Indicates unanimous choice

Honorable Mention

Taylor Ruper, Akron

Carly Young, Akron

Shelbie Justice, Ball State

Jillian Halfhill, Bowling Green

Danielle Havel, Bowling Green

Deborah Hoekstra, Bowling Green

Allison Papenfuss, Bowling Green

Nicki Hopkins, Buffalo

Kristen Sharkey, Buffalo

Niki DiGuilio, Central Michigan

Chelsea Hite, Eastern Michigan

Tamzin Barriolhet, Kent State

Jamie Hutcheson, Kent State

Melanee Stubbs, Kent State

Courtney Larson, Miami

Haley Robertson, Miami

Hannah Robertson, Miami

Kelsey Simon, Miami

Shaakira Haywood, Northern Illinois

Ashley Sneed, Northern Illinois

Jenna Thorp, Northern Illinois

Riley McCormick, Toledo

Michelle O’Brien, Western Michigan

All Access
Official team shop