Article Image
Courtesy: BSU Photo Services

Men's Volleyball Earns Numerous Accolades from MIVA

Courtesy: Ball State Athletics
Release: April 17, 2013
Send this article to a friend Print RSS
Share |

ST. CHARLES, Mo. - The No. 9 Ball State men's volleyball team earned several nods from the MIVA as the All-Conference Team awards were named. Head coach Joel Walton was named MIVA Coach of the Year and five Cardinals were put on the all-conference teams.

Walton, in his 15th season as head coach for the Cardinals, led Ball State to a 20-5 overall record and a 9-5 mark in league play. Walton was previously named MIVA Coach of the Year in 2001 after guiding BSU to a 20-8 overall record.

The Cardinals are currently riding a 12-match winning streak that marks the longest winning streak since the 15-match streak back in the 1982 season. Ball State is also riding a six-match conference winning streak heading into the MIVA Quarterfinals.

Earning first team honors for the Cardinals were outside hitters Jamion Hartley and Greg Herceg, middle hitter Kevin Owens and libero Tommy Rouse. Midde hitter Matt Leske was named to the second team. This is the first time that Hartley and Herceg have made the list. Owens and Leske were named to the All-MIVA Second Team last season. Rouse was named to the All-MIVA First Team in the 2011 season.

During the season, Ball State earned three MIVA Offensive Player of the Week nods and eight MIVA Defensive Player of the Week awards.

Complete list of first team honorees: Brennan Anderson (Ohio State), BJ Buldog (Lewis), Jamion Hartley (Ball State), Michael Henchy (Ohio State), Greg Herceg (Ball State), Thomas Jaeschke (Loyola-Chicago), Kevin Owens (Ball State), Geoff Powell (Lewis), Eddie Rivera (IPFW), Tommy Rouse (Ball State) and Joseph Smalzer (Loyola-Chicago).

Second team honorees were: Colin Hackworth (Lindenwood), Matt Leske (Ball State), Andrew Lutz (Ohio State), Ryan Mather (Grand Canyon), Jay Petty (Lewis), Ben Ponnet (Grand Canyon), Scott Siwicki (Lindenwood), John Tholen (Ohio State) and Bobby Walsh (Lewis).

Joseph Smalzer and Thomas Jaeschke of Loyola-Chicago were named the MIVA Player of the Year and Freshman of the Year, respectively.

Ball State will host IPFW in the MIVA Quarterfinal on Saturday, Apr. 20 at 7:30 p.m. at Worthen Arena.


Highlights: MVB vs. Grand Canyon (3/14/15)
Highlights: MVB vs. Ohio State
MVB vs. McKendree Highlights
Men's Volleyball: Brothers at the Net
MVB: Highlights vs. Lewis
Men's Volleyball vs. George Mason University
Highlights: MVB vs. George Mason
Men's Volleyball vs. Lindenwood University
Men's Volleyball vs. Quincy University
MVB: Highlights vs. Penn State
Ball State All Access
Meineke Car Care
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
A-1 Graphics
American Chevrolet
Burger King
Cousin Vinnys
Dillman's Furniture
Discount Tire
Holiday Inn Express
Jimmy John's
Johnny Carino's
Muncie Auto Group
Mutual Bank
Peak Property Group
Sam Pierce Chevrolet
Shane Co.
Tom Raper RV
Victory Honda
Village Promenade
MacAllister Rentals
A-1 For Fun
Baskin Robins
Prime Trust
Sport Clips
T.I.S. Bookstore
Advanced Signs
Cambria Hotels and Suites
Central Indiana Orthopedic
Coldwell Banker
Cooper Tires
Downtown Muncie Red
Intrust Bank
McCoy Ford-Lincoln
Papa John's
Reynold's Farm Equipment
Terrance Smith Distributing
Texas Roadhouse
University Avenue Dental
Windermere Place