Article Image
Courtesy: BSU Photo Services

Men's Tennis Completes Singles Play at Texas Invite

Courtesy: Ball State Athletics
Release: November 02, 2012
Print RSS
Share |

AUSTIN, Texas - The Ball State men's tennis team ended day one of its competition at the Texas Invitational Friday afternoon located on the courts of the Penick-Allison Tennis Center.

The Cardinals faced some stiff competition in the singles A draw, as senior Cliff Morrison fell to Dane Webb of Oklahoma, 6-2, 6-4.  Senior Dalton Albertin lost a three set match to Sudanwa Sitaram of Texas while sophomore Ray Leonard also dropped his match to Texas in the round of 32.

Junior Austin Smith was the lone winner in the round of 32 singles B draw after he took down Sebastian Erimicioiu (UTA), 6-0, 5-7, 6-3.  Smith continued to advance in his draw winning his match in the round of 16 over Matt Lin of Princeton, 6-1, 6-3.  Smith competes against Oklahoma's John Harrison Warden Saturday in the quarterfinals. 

The Ball State men's tennis team will continue its action at the Texas Invitational later tonight with doubles action.


*** Round of 32

#1 Costin Paval (OU) - bye

Nick Naumann (Texas) def. Yauheni Yakauleu (UTA) - 6-2, 6-2

#8 David Holiner (Texas) def. Maximo Agoglia (SEU) - 6-3, 6-1

Vukasin Teofanovic (Marquette) def. Leonard Stakhovsky (OU) - 6-4, 6-3

Soren Hess Oleson (Texas) def. Augie Bloom (Princeton) - 6-1, 6-1

Dan Mamalat (Marquette) def. Stefan Williams (UTA) - 6-1, 2-6, 6-5 (def.)

#5 Dane Webb (OU) def. Cliff Morrison (BSU) - 6-2, 6-4

Lloyd Glasspool (Texas) def. Facundo Lugones (TCU) - 6-2, 6-2

Jacoby Lewis (Texas) def. Matt Spindler (Princeton) - 6-1, 6-2

Axel Alvarez Llamas (OU) def. #6 Nick Chappell (TCU) - 6-3, 7-5

Sudanwa Sitaram (Texas) def. Dalton Albertin (BSU) - 5-7, 6-1, 6-2

#3 Guillermo Alcorta (OU) - bye

Andrew Korinek (Texas) def. Ray Leonard (BSU) - 6-1, 6-3

#7 Peerakit Siributwong (OU) def. Zach McCourt (Princeton) - 3-6, 6-3, 6-4

JT Sundling (TCU) def. Joey Swaysland (Texas) - 7-5, 6-2

#2 Matija Pecotic (Princeton) - bye

*** Round of 16

#1 Costin Paval (OU) def. Nick Naumann (Texas) - 7-6, 3-6, 6-2

#8 David Holiner (Texas) def. Vukasin Teofanovic (Marquette) - 6-2, 6-3

#4 Soren Hess Oleson (Texas) def. Dan Mamalat (Marquette) - 6-0, 6-2

#5 Dane Webb (OU) def. Lloyd Glasspool (Texas) - 6-1, 4-6, 6-2

Axel Alvarez Llamas (OU) def. Jacoby Lewis (Texas) - 6-1, 6-1

#3 Guillermo Alcorta (OU) def. Sudanwa Sitaram (Texas) - 4-6, 7-6, 7-5

#7 Peerakit Siributwong (OU) def. Andrew Korinek (Texas) - 6-3, 6-2

JT Sundling (TCU) vs. #2 Matija Pecotic (Princeton)

*** Quarterfinal

#1 Costin Paval (OU) vs. #8 David Holiner (Texas)

#4 Soren Hess-Olesen (Texas) vs. #5 Dane Webb (OU)

Axel Alvarez Llamas (OU) vs. #3 Guillermo Alcorta (OU)

#7 Peerakit Siributwong (OU) vs. #2 Matija Pecotic (Princeton)


*** Round of 32

#1 Orlando Superlano (TCU) - bye

Soren Goritzka (UTA) - bye

Sebastian Gomez (UTA) def. Michael Garza (SEU) - Wd (emerg)

Logon Collins (Marquette) def. Austin Sansone (BSU) - 6-4, 6-1

#3 Chris Camillone (Texas) - bye

John Harrison Warden (OU) - bye

Matt Lin (Princeton) def. Jonathan Stockdale (SEU) - Wd (inj)

Austin Smith (BSU) def. Sebastian Erimicioiu (UTA) - 6-0, 5-7, 6-3

Dan Davies (Princeton) def. Adrian Garza (SEU) - Wd (emerg)

Cam Tehrani (Marquette) def. Pat Elliot (BSU) - 7-5, 6-2

Carlos Arbiza (UTA) def. Ryan Proctor (OU) - 6-1, 6-3

#4 Jonathan Carcione (Princeton) - bye

Alex Hilliard (Texas) def. Apollo Tran (SEU) - 6-0, 6-1

Nick Papac (OU) def. Dan Richardson (Princeton) - 6-3, 6-4

Alex Brym (BSU) - bye

#2 Ben Chen (Texas) - bye

*** Round of 16

#1 Orlando Superlano (TCU) def. Soren Goritzka (UTA) - 7-6, 6-2

Logon Collins (Marquette) def. Sebastian Gomez (UTA) - 7-5, 6-2

John Harrison Warden (OU) def. #3 Chris Camillone (Texas) - Wd

Austin Smith (BSU) def. Matt Lin (Princeton) - 6-1, 6-3

Cam Tehrani (Marquette) def. Dan Davies (Princeton) - 7-6, 3-6, 6-3

Carlos Arbiza (UTA) def. #4 Jonathan Carcione (Princeton) - 3-6, 6-4, 6-4

Nick Papac (OU) def. Alex Hilliard (Texas) - 6-7, 6-1, 7-5

#2 Ben Chen (Texas) def. Alex Brym (BSU) - 6-3, 6-3

*** Quarterfinal

#1 Orlando Superlano (TCU) vs. Logon Collins (Marquette)

John Harrison Warden (OU) vs. Austin Smith (BSU)

Dan Davies (Princeton) vs. Cam Tehrani (Marquette)

Nick Papac (OU) vs. #2 Ben Chen (Texas)

Men's Tennis: Lucas Andersen Student Athlete of...
Men's Tennis: Rigney Chooses Tennis
Men's Tennis: Cards Learn NCAA Destination
SL TV: 2014 Men's Tennis MAC Championship
SL TV: #iAthlete - Matt Helm (Tennis)
Richards Receives President's Medal of Distinction...
Men's Tennis VS Butler Recap
Men's Tennis Digital Guide Video
Ball State Sports Link: Dalton Albertin (Men's...
Men's Tennis vs. Buffalo 4_17
Ball State All Access
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
A-1 Graphics
American Chevrolet
Burger King
Cousin Vinnys
Dillman's Furniture
Discount Tire
Holiday Inn Express
Jimmy John's
Johnny Carino's
Muncie Auto Group
Mutual Bank
Peak Property Group
Sam Pierce Chevrolet
Camping World
Victory Honda
Village Promenade
MacAllister Rentals
A-1 For Fun
Baskin Robins
Prime Trust
T.I.S. Bookstore
Advanced Signs
Cambria Hotels and Suites
Central Indiana Orthopedic
Coldwell Banker
Cooper Tires
Downtown Muncie Red
Intrust Bank
McCoy Ford-Lincoln
Papa John's
Terrance Smith Distributing
Texas Roadhouse
University Avenue Dental